City of Tainan, Taiwan (2005)

Tainan, the fourth largest city in Taiwan, is one of the sister cities of Cagayan de Oro, the 12th largest city in the Philippines.

Sisterhood was forged in 2005 during a trade mission to the Taiwanese capital.

Tainanese officials returned the visit in 2008, thereafter donating five (5) fire trucks to augment the Cagayan de Oro fleet.

In a recent but separate development, Cagayan de Oro’s University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines (USTP) inked a Student and Academic Exchange Agreement with the Southern Taiwan University of Science and Technology (STUST) in 2018.

Dr. Deng-Maw Lu, STUST Interim President, and Dr. Rosalito A. Quirino, OIC University President of USTP, as witnessed by Dr. Ruth G. Cabahug, USTP CDO Chancellor,
and Dr. Consorcio Namoco Jr., USTP CDO Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs

Photo credits and updates: Dr. Herbert Glenn P. Reyes, Presidential Assistant for External Affairs, USTP System